The 2016 Field Trip Lineup Is Here

2016 Field Trip LineupThe 2016 Field Trip lineup is out and my guesses weren’t even close. A mere three acts that I predicted are playing the event, which takes over Fort York and Garrison Common on June 4 and 5 (I almost guessed Holy Fuck and DIIV but I thought Bestival would take the former and Wayhome the latter).

I thought these acts would definitely be there: Bloc Party, Jason Collett, Ra Ra Riot and Reuben and the Dark. I got two (Jason and Ra Ra Riot) right. I’m really surprised that the other two won’t be there. I guess Field Trip didn’t work with Bloc Party’s tour routing but I’m not sure why Reuben and the Dark aren’t playing. They have no live dates coming up; maybe they’re taking the summer off?

I’m disappointed that Grimes isn’t at Field Trip (I guess Bestival got her) but Robyn is a pretty good alternative and someone who I’ve been wanting to catch. And while I could have done without The National (this will be my seventh or eighth time seeing them) I’m overall pretty happy with the lineup.

It’s a really nice mix of artists and genres and much to my surprise, only contains nine acts that I’ve seen before (and the bulk of those are performers who I want to see again). This lineup contains some real surprises (like Of Montreal and Charles Bradley), which makes it all that more intriguing.

Of the performers I haven’t seen before, I’m most excited to check out Jazz Cartier, Bully and the already mentioned Robyn. I’m also happy that I’m finally going to get to see Dear Rouge and Brave Shores (though the latter’s early start time might mean I miss them again).

I love that Field Trip launched its lineup with a day-by-day schedule and single day tickets. While I’ll be going for the full weekend, presenting that information and offering single day tickets right off the top is really nice for those people who can’t devote a full weekend to a festival.

Tickets go on sale next week Monday through the usual sources. A general admission pass runs $125 and in addition to music, it gets you access to food, comedy acts, art displays and a kids camp.

And speaking of kids, children 12 and under are free. This means that my Baby will be attending her first music festival this June. I think she’ll like it.

Below is Basia Bulat’s Live at Massey Hall film. This was a fantastic performance (it was one of my favourite shows of 2014) and one that I’m hoping is duplicated this June.

One thought on “The 2016 Field Trip Lineup Is Here

  1. You will love Robyn! What a great lineup. I have learned that the lineup never ends up mattering to me but it’s so fun to break it all down beforehand (your hopes and disappointments). Festivals get better every time and there is so much new stuff to discover! Super nice that full day-by-day schedule is announced at time of ticket sales too!

Leave a Reply

