More Useful Baby Products

Ubbi Diaper Pail2016 seems to be the year of the baby in my peer group (I guess I was ahead of the curve by having my daughter in 2015). After writing up my recommendations on the top five items that I think every new parent needs (besides the essentials), I started thinking about what other products I should highlight for these soon-to-be-new parents. Below are five more ideas.

1. Ubbi Diaper Pail
I know, I know, a diaper pail that costs $100 sounds extravagant but at least this one lets you use any kind of garbage bag in it, unlike the Diaper Genie and its knockoffs, that require brand-specific bags. Besides the flexibility to use whatever bags you want, this steel pail keeps odor contained and keeps pets and kids out, thanks to its built-in lock.  Finally, it looks nice, coming in a range of colours, and is easy to clean.

2. Puj Baby Tub

As someone with a sensitive back, I’m interested in any product that keeps me from having to bend over. The Puj is basically a collapsable piece of foam that turns any standard sink into a comfortable baby bath, meaning I don’t have to hunch over the bathtub for a few more months. The Puj’s minimal design makes it ideal for small places (you can hang it off the side of your fridge thanks to its built-in magnets) and yes, that foam is quick drying and mold and mildew resistant.

Peg Prego Booklet Stroller3. Peg Perego Booklet
Picking a stroller is up there with picking your child’s name. My husband created a spreadsheet to make a decision but for me it came down to this: Which stroller could I close and carry with one hand? I could only find one and it was the Peg Perego Booklet. It also turned out to be a very nimble stroller that handles easily with one hand and that’s packed with useful features including the ability to fold inward to protect the fabric that Baby sits on and to stand up on its own once folded (these last two features are more challenging to find than you would expect). It’s not the cheapest stroller out there but it’s not too pricey either, retailing at around $450.
The one downside to the Booklet is that the seat isn’t reversible, meaning that it’s only outward facing. However, we purchased the Peg Perego Primo Viaggio 4-35  car seat, which easily snaps into the stroller and gives us a forward-facing option (I also recommend this car seat though you can certainly find a cheaper option).

4. Cotton Balls And A Spray Bottle
My baby has inherited her father’s sensitive skin. As a result, we minimize the use of wipes and instead use cotton balls and water (applied via a spray bottle). It’s a simple system that works, keeps her skin happy and as an added bonus, saves us money.

Graco Little Lounger5. Rocker/Swing
Yes, having a baby is a huge responsibility but that doesn’t mean you have to hold the baby every waking moment. Give yourself the ability to use the washroom or make a meal by getting some kind of rocker/swing where baby can be safely placed (and even entertained). There are dozens of options out there and which one works best depends on how much floorspace you have, what kinds of motions your baby likes (or hates) and your budget. We went with the Graco Little Lounger. It’s a rocker that also vibrates. My baby loves the toy bar that it came with while I like that it’s easy to clean, sits up higher than some similar products and will fit her for months to come, as it’s good for up to 30 pounds.

 

Leave a Reply

