311 Works!

I have to admit that I was skeptical about using 311 to get a noisy manhole cover fixed.  Sure, my issue would be logged but would it be effectively dealt with? Or would have to deal with hearing a horrible, metallic clanging noise every time a car hit the cover the wrong way?

My scepticism grew when I saw that my issue was updated with a vague message that I read as meaning, “We’ll get to it at some point.” True, my issue wasn’t urgent but a clearer timeframe would have been nice.

I was completely prepared to have to call 311 again to get a better update but then on the weekend, I noticed something: Silence. I watched several cars drive right over the manhole cover and there was no noise. Even better was that night, I didn’t have to fall to sleep to the sound of “clang-clang-clang.” Amazing!

I then looked up my issue using 311’s handy service request tracking tool and saw this message:

Screen Shot 2015-07-30 at 4.04.59 PM

I guess that means it’s fixed; it certainly sounds fixed and that’s all I wanted.

I have to say that I’m quite impressed that calling 311 resulted in my problem being properly addressed and in a fairly timely fashion (two weeks is a reasonable amount of time to fix a non-urgent issue like a noisy manhole cover). My only regret is that I didn’t call that service sooner.

While I hope that I don’t have to call 311 again, if another, similar (or worse) issue pops up, I won’t hesitate to reach for the phone.

 

Leave a Reply

