An Update On My 311 Service Request

It’s been over a week since I called up 311 to complain about a noisy manhole cover (I swear, it’s really loud). So did logging a service request do anything? Maybe. The manhole cover is still clanging away every time a car hits it but I think it’s a little quieter. Why that is, I’m not sure as it’s not clear to me if anyone from the City has physically looked into the problem or not (maybe some extra dirt got in around it and is acting as padding).

One of the nice aspects of our 311 system is that you can track your issue online. When I do that, I get this update:

Screen Shot 2015-07-21 at 9.12.14 PM

Unfortunately, the downside of this system is that it allows for vague answers like the one above. Ideally, I would be able to comment back and ask for more details but unfortunately the system isn’t set up like that (yes, I realize that such a system would be quite pricey). I think I’m going to give my service request one more week and then, if it hasn’t been updated and the noise continues, I’m going to place a follow-up call. I think that’s reasonable.

 

Leave a Reply

