LindsayFest 2014

LindsayFest_Toronto_music_festival_posterThis week I had some extra time on my hands so I decided to create a summer music lineup worthy of this city. I’m calling my event LindsayFest and scheduling it for the last weekend in July at the CNE Grounds (it’ll work, I’m sure!).

I’ve modeled LindsayFest after Lollapalooza, my favourite music festival, but since it’s new, I’ve shrunk it down a bit. Instead of three days, LindsayFest will be two days long and it will have two main stages, two secondary stages and a dance area.

To create LindsayFest’s inaugural lineup, I made myself follow these rules:

  • Had to use artists who are touring this year;
  • Can’t include artists who are playing in the GTA between the May long weekend and September 30;
  • Had to be a mix of bands that could actually sell enough tickets to support an event like this (in other words, no, I’m not a fan of all of these acts)

And so without further ado, here’s the first-ever lineup for LindsayFest, with the top eight acts at the top and everyone else arranged alphabetically.

1. Daft Punk (oh, they’ll play LindsayFest)
2. Outkast
3. Queens Of the Stone Age
4. The Cure
5. Jack White
6. Lorde
7. Calvin Harris
8. The Knife
9. A Tribe Called Red
10. Alixander III
11. Araabmuzic
12. Austra
13. Basia Balut
14. Basic Soul Unit
15. Blood Orange
16. Broken Bells
17. Cage The Elephant
18. Cardiknox
19. Cayucus
20. Chad VanGaalen
21. Chance The Rapper
22. Charlie Darker
23. Childish Gambino
24. Chromeo
25. CHVRCHES
26. Classixx
27. Cloud Control
28. Cut Copy
29. DIANA
30. Dillion Francis
31. Disclosure
32. Dum Dum Girls
33. Empire Of the Sun
34. Frank Ocean
35. Fuck Buttons
36. Fucked Up
37. Goldroom
38. Grounders
39. HAIM
40. Hannah Georgos
41. James Blake
42. Janelle Monae
43. Jhene Aiko
44. July Talk
45. La Roux
46. Laurent Garnier
47. Mac DeMarco
48. Major Lazer
49. Metronomy
50. NoNoNo
51. Nosaj Thing
52. Panama
53. Pharrell Williams
54. Phosphorescence
55. RL Grime
56. Rynecologist
57. Sky Ferreira
58. St. Lucia
59. St. Vincent
60. The 1975
61. The Beaches
62. The Darcys (in real life, I’m sure they’re playing Field Trip)
63. The Glitch Mob
64. The Head and The Heart
65. The Internet
66. The Naked and Famous
67. The Pack A.D.
68. The Sam Roberts Band (in real life, I’m sure they’re playing Field Trip)
69. Trust (in real life, I’m sure they’re playing Field Trip)
70. Tyler, the Creator
71. Violent Femmes
72. Warpaint
73. Wild Beasts
74. Wild Belle

Yeah, I think that would be a pretty good (and fairly realistic) festival, don’t you?

In real festival news, the lineup for the second Toronto Urban Roots Festival should announced sometime today. I suspect that more than a couple of LindsayFest’s performers will be playing that actual festival.

Leave a Reply

