WordPress.org Advice

This is less of a New Year’s resolution than a New Year’s project: More my portfolio website over to WordPress.org.

Right now my portfolio just lives on Blogger because Blogger is quick, free and it’s easy to tweak when it comes to many design aspects. But while I like Blogger, it’s no WordPress and the time has come to switch that site over to a system that I can fully customize. My new WordPress-powered portfolio will also show prospective employers that yes, I really do know how to use the world’s most popular blogging platform.

But before I get started I’m wondering if anyone has any advice for me on how to set up my own WordPress.org site. One friend already told me about these excellent tutorials but I’m certainly open to reading/watching more.

WordPress_themes

I’m looking at using BlueHost.com for my hosting and domain name needs. It’s recommended by WordPress and the price looks fine to me. It also seems used to dealing with people who might not know what they’re doing so that’s good because right now I definitely count myself in that group.

While I’m not looking forward to the tech side of getting my blog up, I am excited about all the new theme and plugin options that will be available to me once I make the switch. I already have a theme that I’ve edited a bit and that I think I’ll use, at least initially. However, if you’re reading this and have a theme that you really love, let me know about it.

This blog currently lives on WordPress.com. I would like to eventually move it over too but I think that right now I just need to get one up. Once I’ve figured that out, I’ll take another look at this one. I think though that I will eventually end up moving it over to the .org platform since that’s the only way I can get ads on this site that I get a cut of.

If all goes according to plan, my new portfolio will be up by the end of January. So if you have any advice, please let me know it before then!

Thanks in advance.

 

 

Leave a Reply

