September Events List

Let me be the one-millionth person to say that there are a million things going on in Toronto in September. Many of these things have to do with TIFF. I do not (generally) care about these things. Oh, I have nothing against TIFF and I’m actually quite glad that it exists. But it is not my world. It exists, I exist and the only time our paths cross are if I win free tickets to a screening.

So contest winnings aside, my September is TIFF-free. And in fact, for the most part, it’s going to be a quiet month for me as I try to save money since I’m newly unemployed (more on that later). But it doesn’t have to be a quiet month for you! Here’s a list of stuff to check out if you have the money, the time and of course, the friends who are up for it.

Sunday, September 15
For the second time this year, I’m missing CHVRCHES perform in this city. I really wish I had grabbed tickets to this now sold-out show at the Danforth Music Hall.

Tuesday, September 17
It’s something I’m actually going to! At only $30, this event is in my budget and gave me an excuse to get together with a book-loving friend.

Image

Thursday, September 19
It pains me that I can’t make this event. If only I could find $80 on the ground.

Image

Weekend of September 20-22
It seems like every month has that weekend that’s just packed with stuff. In September, that weekend is this one. Besides hosting all of the following events, it’s also the weekend of my housewarming party so that’s what my focus is going to be.

The Bloor Ossington Folk Festival
Weekend music festival #1: For three nights, over a dozen artists, some folk, some not, take over Christie Pits and a few surrounding venues for a free music festival. Performers include Julie Doiron, Memoryhouse and By Divine Right. There will also be food vendors and a beer garden.

National Learn To Code Day
I really wish I knew how to code. And if I wasn’t busy prepping a party, I would so be attending this $55 event, which will teach you how to make a real website (not just a WordPress one).

The Junction Music Festival
Weekend music festival #2: Set across 20 venues in The Junction, this festival features such performers as Cuff the Duke and the Bruce Peninsula all performing on Saturday, September 21.

Word On The Street
This year’s WOTS once again takes place at Queen’s Park and runs from 11 am until 6 pm on Sunday, September 22. I am hoping to make it out to this event.

Screen Shot 2013-09-05 at 3.22.48 PM


Sunday, September 29
Maybe I’ll check out the fourth and final stop of Park Crawl, a fundraiser for the David Suzuki Foundation, since that stop is just a block away from my house.

Park_crawl

Okay, I’m sure that there are events that I’m missing. I’ll try to post them as I remember them.

Leave a Reply

